Training, Professional Certification and Careers

The information security world is facing a skills shortage. Numerous studies tell us that the rise in the number of jobs is not being met by the number of people adept at filling those roles. Practical skills need to be taught so that you can deal with the day-to-day events that come up in real life and receiving the right cyber skills training is an important step in your journey to becoming an Information Security Professional and to put your cyber career on the right track.

InfoSec Skills offers many courses that lead to industry recoginised professional certificates accredited by the Chartered Institute of IT, the British Computer Society (BCS) and the Global Certification Institute (GCI):
  • Foundation Certificate in Information Security (FCIS)
  • Information Security Management Principles (CISMP)
  • Information Risk Management (PCIRM)
  • Business Continuity Management (PCBCM)
  • Solution Architecture Security Practitioner (SASP)
  • Information Assurance Architecture (PCIAA)
  • Intrusion Analysis and Digital Forensics Essentials (IADFE)
Click Here to enter the main InfoSec Skills web site.

InfoSec Skills There is quite a bit of confusion over what professional certificates one should hold or even aspire to and there is also confusion over the various accrediting bodies, skills frameworks and how these all relate to each other. This web page, with its' attached PDF diagrams containing links to third parties, aims to simplify the view of the industry and provide guidance to new entrants and existing practitioners alike. What are the latest certification tracks or learning pathways? What Cyber Skills do I need to aquire to achieve a specific job role?

Here you will find the answers and gain some clarity on how this all fits together.

The Information Assurance Landscape

Over the past two to three years, the national technical authority for Information Assurance, C.E.S.G., has been working with industry and accrediting bodies towards professionalising the Information Assurance industry, starting with the Public Sector. The resulting CESG Certified Professional (CCP) Scheme provides a means of independent assessment and verification for those working in Information Assurance (IA).

The scheme provides IA specialists with an independent assessment of their IA skills and experience demonstrating that they can carry out their role effectively and deliver a consistent high standard of IA. It also provides those working in IA with a clearly defined career development path.

At the end of September 2013, CESG announced that the CCP scheme had been expanded and is now available to the private sector.

The CCP certifications are valid for three years and provide a CESG approved benchmark of skills, knowledge and expertise in cyber security. Find out more about the CESG Certified Professional (CCP) Scheme.

The CCP scheme is run by three independent certification bodies, appointed and audited by CESG, one of which is the British Computer Society (BCS, the Chartered Institute for IT).

Career Path BrochureCareer Path Diagram
Career Paths in IA Career Paths in IA

All of the professional certificates listed in the diagram have embedded hyperlinks so you can drill down in to more information. We welcome any feedback or comments on this diagram as we will update it regularly with the latest developments.

© 2012 - 2015 InfoSec Skills. All rights reserved.